Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
    Avalancheykj Guest

Default developing a new strategy

Hello,
    Im new to trading and have created an investment club. I had a successful trading strategy that worked in simulation but i can't apply to real life. seeing how other people have employed successful strategies I thought i would ask for some tips. I'm thinking of going with a swing trading strategy, trading under $5 stocks. any tips at all are appreciated, thank you.

2. Default

What do you mean by "investment club?" Just you and a few friends getting together to chat stocks once in awhile or will you be opening a brokerage account as an Investment Club?

Second why only stocks under $5? Most stocks under $5 are terrible companies and not worth investing in. Yea I trade them all the time, but that's just trading the charts, I don't care about the company. If you are an investment club pooling together money, you need to find good stocks that can grow your money. Otherwise you'll find your investment club members soon arguing about what stock to swing this week or next week because of some hot rumor they heard. Eventually people get pissed off and take their money out.

You need to come up with a plan. Find some rules you want to stick to such as the company must have earnings growth year over year for the past 2-3 years. Come up with at least 5 rules you guys all can agree to and find stocks that meet that criteria. This way you at least find good stocks. Then if you really want to swing trade them, you have to learn technical analysis of the charts to find entry and exits. This is no cake walk, it takes time and practice. If your investment club members are not willing to learn this aspect of swing trading, then you will be better off just finding a few good stocks to buy and hold that everyone can be happy with.

Awannavare Guest